ALPS Beirut

Home » Spoken Lebanese Arabic » مِشي is this week’s Lebanese Arabic Word of the Week

مِشي is this week’s Lebanese Arabic Word of the Week

mishy is a verb that means to walk or to work well. Here is how it is conjugated:

بيمشي، عم يمشي ، رح يمشي ، ماشي

mishy, byimshy, 3am yimshy, ra7 yimshy, meishy

 

بمشي كلّ يوم تقريباً ربع ساعة تَ أوصل ع شغلي
bimshy kil yowm ta2riiban ribi3 sei3ah ta uuSal 3a shighly
I walk about 15 minutes to get to my work every day.

 

شغلي الحمدالله ماشي منيح
shighly l7amdillah meishy mnii7
My Work is going well (praise God).

 

منلتقى اليوم ع الخمسة، اوكي، ماشي؟
mnilt2a lyowm 3al-khamseh, Ok, meishy?
Let’s meet today at 5:00. Is that ok? Does it work for you?

 

تليفوني ماشي، بس أنا حابّة إشتري تليفون جديد
telefony meishy, bas ana 7aabbeh ishtiry telifon jdiid
My phone is ok, but I’d like to buy a new one.

 

Do you have any questions about using this word or learning Arabic? Ask us on Facebook!

ALPS Beirut

