ALPS Beirut

Home » Spoken Lebanese Arabic » سَلَّم is this week’s Lebanese Arabic Word of the Week

سَلَّم is this week’s Lebanese Arabic Word of the Week

sallam is a verb that means to greet someone, to say hi, to deliver something. Here is how it is conjugated:

بِسَلِّم، عم يِسَلِّم ، رح يِسَلِّم ، مْسَلِّم

 

بشوفُه عادةً حدّ شغلي بس ما بسلّم عليّ
bshuufo 3aadatan 7add shighly bas maa bisallim 3aleyyi
I usually see him near my work, but he never says hi to me.

 

سلّمي كتير ع العيلة
sallmy ktiir 3al-3ayleh.
Give my warm greetings to the family.

 

وصل التِّكت وسلَّمتُه للمُدير
woSil et-ticket w sallamto lal-mudiir
The ticket arrived and I gave it to the manager.

 

Do you have any questions about using this word or learning Arabic? Ask us on Facebook!

ALPS Beirut

